Encrypted Joikuspot Nokia Ubuntu wireless hotspot howto

April 4, 2009...... at 8:43 pm | Posted in geek | 2 Comments

I love my N82. Not only does it take great photo’s, give me directions to places I don’t know and tell me how fast I ran, it also provides a temporary wireless hotspot in my office so we are not without air internet while we wait for Telkom to flick a switch.

XP seems to have no problem connecting to the adhoc wireless network that Joikuspot provides but the network manager in Ubuntu was having none of it. So here’s how to connect to an adhoc wireless network in Ubuntu:

  1. sudo apt-get install madwifi-tools
  2. in your JoikuSpot settings, set channel to 6, encryption to WEP Open, key type to Hex, key length to 128
  3. disable wireless networking in Network manager
  4. sudo wlanconfig ath0 destroy
  5. sudo wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode adhoc
  6. sudo iwconfig ath0 mode ad-hoc channel 6 key 85895cb353be3321c3f1248e9a essid JoikuSpot_0 #key = Joikuspot key
  7. start your JoikuSpot
  8. sudo dhclient ath0
  9. surfs-up for all PCs with a wifi card
  10. sudo dhclient ath0 -r  #to release IP

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. send me joiku spot key

  2. You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation
    but I in finding this matter to be really one thing which I
    think I’d by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very large for me. I’m taking a look forward to your subsequent post,
    I will try to get the hang of it!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.