Is social becoming the new adwords

January 31, 2012...... at 11:08 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I’ve always been an early adopter. Recently I have found myself creating dummy gmail and Facebook accounts purely so that I could play games. The games in question all seem assume its ok to request access to your social network to allow you to play.

Which got me to thinking, as someone who uses Adwords extensively to market JobCrystal, I would happily pay Facebook or Google a price for access to their social networks. For every social connection of a registered user I am able to add to my database I would happily pay. Conceptually mining a users social graph is no different to advertising or buying Adwords clicks. If I was Facebook I would charging these games slightly less per user added through the social graph than google would charge for an Adwords click.

The future of advertising may be the friends who ask you to help them do something in some online game.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

